Al-Hikma Polytechnic, Karu

Brief History

Al-Hikma Polytechnic Karu was established by law in line with the provisions of Acts 9 of 1993. it was founded in response to the recognition that Nigeria is in dire need of technological resources and the empowerment of the citizens to meet the demand of the age. 

The Institution believes in and is firmly committed tot he functioning philosophy of education in consonance with the National policy of Education. Al-Hikma Polytechnic has clearly stipulated objectives, the development and training of manpower is the first. The second is research for the developing and adopting of appropriate techniques to problem solving and the third is service to the immediate as well as larger society. 

Al-Hikma Polytechnic received approved letter for commencement of academic activities in December, 2016. The Academic activities started in January 2017 with three (3) Academy Departments namely: Electrical/Electronic Engineering, Computer Engineering and Computer Science. 

The Polytechnic is structured into four schools each with a cluster of departments. 

The Four (4) Schools are:

  1. Applied Arts and Science
  2. Business and Management 
  3. Engineering Technology
  4. Environmental Studies

Al-Hikma Polytechnic has the followoing directorates 

  1. Directorate of MIS
  2. Directorate of ICT
  3. Directorate of Linkages and Collaborations
  4. Directorate of Research and Publications
  5. Directorate of Academic Planning 
  6. Directorate of Industrial Placement 
  7. Deanery of Student Affairs 

The Ultimate responsibility for the proper management of the institution rests with the Governing Council. The Rect9or is the Chief Academic as well as Administrative Officer. The Rector is assisted by a Deputy Rector and is appointed by council for a term of years, on the recommendation of the Rector. Apart from the academic Dean of  schools, there are other major managements (and units) whose functions are directed by appropriate personnel so appointed. These are the Rectory, the Registry, the Library, the Medical Centre, the Physical Planning and Development, and Works & Engineering Services Departments and also prominent Segments of the institution.